Memories!

Wow. It has been quite the whirlwind this past week. It flew by. I have been so busy. I love it though! I will try to do a recap for you!

I am serving in a branch now. It is the first branch that I have served in on my mission. It is different, but I like it. I have never seen a unit that was in its early stages of development before. OH before I forget. Remember that lady we knocked into with President Calderwood in Terryville (I can’t remember if I told you about that)? She got baptized last Saturday! Miracle.
So I was able to go on exchanges back in Midwood this past week! It was great! It brought back a lot of memories of when I served there. Did I ever tell you about that guy from South Carolina? We met him while we were fearlessing one night. He said he needed money to travel to a bus stop so he could head to South Carolina. One of the missionaries ended up giving him $20. We talked to him on a bench that was covered in snow, in the freezing cold. We taught him the restoration and committed him to be baptized! He accepted and we told him how to get in touch with the church in SC. He gave us his ring to always remember him, etc. Pretty cool huh? Hold on. When I went back for exchanges I learned some more things about this guy. He has been in Midwood ever since then going around to different people telling them the same story he told us. He has been lying to everyone, and ripping them off. He even talked to the Bishop of the spanish ward in Midwood. Bishop gave him money out of his own pocket. I was so shocked. Can you believe that? Some people have no moral code. It is ridiculous.
I also remembered a time that we were fearlessing in that same place back in Midwood. I talked to this guy for a while and he seemed interested, so I went to get his information. I put his number in the phone and… his number was already in there. It was under “DO NOT ANSWER”. I had no idea what to do. I guess some missionaries had already contacted this guy before? Creepy huh?
Anyways! Enough reminiscing. This past week I was in Bushwick on a train when I saw this guy wearing super nice shoes. I had a prompting to approach him, but he immediately left the train. I didn’t think much of it, until about 2 hours later. I got back on the L-train at a totally different stop, and guess who was on the same train? The guy with the fancy shoes! I made a beeline to him, and started to talk to him. He was from Seattle and was super nice. He wasn’t interested in learning more, but I did get the information about his shoes! I asked him if they were expensive and he said, “define expensive”. Right then I knew they were pricey. They were $300. I proceeded to gasp inside and tell him I might look into them (yeah right).
I was walking around Queens when we got stopped by two guys. One was dressed as bird and he interviewed us for his show. It was fun! We had a good time. Then there was a lady in the background who was taking pictures of us for the NY times. She said it will be in the fashion section or something under intersection? Haha oh New York.
photo 1 photo 2
A cool moment was watching a young man open his mission call to Hounduras! It was very emotional for me to watch that. I remember opening mine like it was yesterday. This is such a sacred time, and I love it. I would not trade this experience for the world.
Elder Lee
Come what may, and Love it!
P.S. We fearlessed a lady that was selling cinnamon roasted nuts. She ended up giving us free peanuts. Mmm. Cinnamon roasted nuts might be some of my favorite things! It has been such a great week. Life doesn’t get any better than this.
Leave a Reply

