Saying Goodbye to The Rock!

What an eventful week.

Elder Rodgers and I were on exchanges on Tuesday. The mission office
asked us to update all of our media referrals, and so we started
working on it! We looked up the first one, and witnessed a MIRACLE!!
The lady told us that her son would not be interested, but we tried to
talk to her for a minute. Right before she shut the door we heard
someone yell from the background, “Wait! They are members of my
church!”. We were really confused.. This was basically a random house
on Staten Island.. so we were shocked. It turns out that this girl had
moved in about 2 weeks prior! She was baptized last March and hadn’t
been able to make it to church. She lives kind of far away and only
has a bike. So she had no idea how to get there. We talked to her for
awhile and got her connected with the Sisters. Wow, it was such a
miracle. The Lord’s hand is in this work!!

Another member family is moving… ahh.. so we helped them move of
course! For the first little while I was in charge of entertaining her
little kid. I think they are from the Ukraine? He is a cute little
Ukrainian boy. We had fun playing with his toys, and running in
circles. It is amazing how easily entertained kids are.

There is a new Chinese missionary in Brooklyn!! We spent some time
with that companionship. We went to dinner, and then spent the night
on the streets handing out flyers for their english class!!! It is
always a blast to do Chinese street sweeps. I will miss that.

OH yeah.. I will be leaving Staten Island 😦 We got transfer calls on
Saturday. I don’t know exactly where I will be heading, but I am sad
to leave this Island. This ole rock has treated me well. I have made
such great friends here. The Reyes/De Los Reyes/Hocbo family is
AMAZING!! I love them so much. Bishop Glick and his family? Wow.
Incredible. They took care of me. I also made really good friends with
Roy and his family. Plus the Bairds, Fackrells, etc. That is my
favorite part about serving a mission. All of the great people. There
are too many people to name!! They have made such an impact on my
life, and they probably don’t even realize it. I got teary eyed when I
said my goodbyes, but it is time to move on! Staten Island will always
hold a sacred place in my heart.

bro baird photo 4 sean and beezer 8-17-14 SEAN AND FAM IN STATEN ISLAND 8-2014 sean and no feeted lizard 2014 sean dinner at reyes staten 8-17-14 sean last meal with reyes family 8-17-14

I was able to go to the temple to celebrate my 18 month mark!! It was
such a blessing. There is peace that will come into your life if you
make regular temple attendance a goal! I can’t wait to regularly go to
the temple. On the way back from the temple we got to ride the
trains!! Yay! I was excited to be able to fearless on the trains
again. I met this girl who had been baptized, and had since fallen
away. Crazy eh? She married a RM… I got her Facebook info and am
going to send the right missionaries to her. That was a great
miracle!! I was with Elder Wuthrich for the day, and so we spent some
time fearlessing some Chinese people on the trip back. It was a blast.

There was a baptism of a really pregnant lady. She actually had to go
straight down into the water in stead of backwards. Haha it was
interesting to watch, but we are happy for her!!

We got an emergency call on Saturday night. Nobody could clean the
church, so they asked us to do it. We went over there and started
cleaning. It was sick. The diaper bin in the restroom was full of
diapers. I dry heaved when we were cleaning it out. Rotting poop. It
was gross. I sprayed like half a can of lysol in there! Haha… oh
boy.

Anyways, the mission is great. Poopy diapers and all. I am so happy. I
love serving. I am grateful that I was given this opportunity to
serve. I have found true happiness out here. Real happiness comes from
focusing on other people. Not yourself. I am still learning that, but
I am starting to understand it more. It is a learning process 🙂

Elder Lee!!
Come what may, and Love it!

Leave a Reply

