Do you want a free book?

Another week of the mish in the books!!! It was a good one. Imagine that, huh?

We are trying to get better at following the Spirit, and we did a
little better this past week! There were a couple of cool experiences
that happened. Last Monday night we were trying to visit  some former
investigators, and they weren’t home… but we saw a guy standing on
the porch next to us. We looked at each other and we both said “I feel
like we should talk to him”. Well then, okay! We looked back at him,
and… he was walking away getting in his car. It is usually awkward
to chase people down, but we figured we would do it anyway. 🙂 So we
went up to his car and asked him, “Do you want a free book?” (I never
know what to say, so I just kinda go with it haha). He actually said
yes. So that was cool! We testified to him, and he said we could come
back!! He hasn’t been home yet, but it was still cool! Then we were
driving to a Less Actives house and I saw this guy on the side of the
road sitting on the curb. I felt like we should talk to him, but I
said… “That is awkward, better not”. We kept driving, and then I
pulled over. We walked over (having no idea how to approach him) and
just started talking. He was not into religion at all… but it wasn’t
too bad! We are trying to find those people, but we gotta keep
looking!

I went on exchanges with Elder Tingey! He was my first companion, and
so it was fun to be back with him. We talked about all of the good
times that we had!! It was a blast from the past. It is crazy that we
were companions over a year ago.. time flies!! OH we were walking by
Mcdonalds and there was a person begging for money. (A little side
note, if you ever decide to beg for money DON’T SMOKE WHILE YOU DO IT!
Or smell like alcohol) I reached in my pocket for change.. and I had a
penny. I figured that I wouldn’t need it, and if he really needed
money that he would treasure it. I gave it to him and kept walking.
Elder Tingey looked back and saw him stare at it and chuck it hahaha.
When we walked by again I tried to find the penny to pick up and give
to him and say, “You dropped this” 🙂 I couldn’t find it though…
haha!

We were on our way to visit a member who just moved in from Nigeria
(he recently went to the temple with us for the very first time… it
was amazing). As we were walking to his house, we saw these three moms
standing outside with their kids. I get a little excited anytime I see
a family, so I was trying to figure out what to say to them. We
weren’t even 20 yds away from them when they noticed us… they all
started hurrying their children inside like we had a weapon on us!
They were yelling “Hurry, it is the Witnesses!!”. I thought I should
at least correct them so I yelled “We are Mormons!”. The lady scowled
at me (I am not sure the mormon thing helped at alll haha) and ran
inside, slammed and locked the door. WOW! Haha we just laughed,
because that is all you can do sometimes. It was funny though because
just two minutes before that we were talking about how nice Utah is
because people actually say hi, and respond to your friendly gestures.
Gotta love me some NYC!!

We met a guy at Target who was nice at first. Then he just tried to
attack our faith. I am sick of it. Haha… I probably shouldn’t be,
but defending the faith every day is not an easy task! I miss being
surrounded by people who believe the same things as me. BUT I can’t
complain, because Heavenly Father needs me here right now. This guy
gave us his number and begged us to come to his church… I just felt
so sick inside. We were nice, but we aren’t going to meet with him. I
am sure he thinks he is doing something good, but I don’t like being
around contention.

Well here is something to ponder for the week: “Material treasures of
earth are merely to provide, as it were, room and board while we are
here at school”. Are we putting too much time and attention into
material things, and not enough time into people who need our help?
Food for thought.

Elder Lee
Come what may, and Love it!

Leave a Reply

