Hard Times Come Again No More

Well General Conference was awesome!! The Priesthood session was probably my favorite one that I had ever been to. I learned a lot of really good things. I am just sad that we have to wait another six months for the next one. I especially liked President Monson’s talk in Priesthood. It fired me up. 🙂

Besides conference we had a hectic week.. A lot of it involved problems with automobiles. I do miss the days when I could just walk or take the bus everywhere! It seemed like there was always one thing after another just piling up on us throughout the week. I did my best to “enjoy the journey”, but I have to admit I got pretty frustrated. Life is hard sometimes! We spent a lot of time at Pep-Boys to say the least.. haha! Even our flapjacks in the mornings were giving us grief. It was just one of those weeks, but hey! Those weeks are the ones where we grow the most! We have a song called “Hard Times Come Again No More” that is rather fitting to this week. Ha!
We are still pluggin along out here! I am still either learning or loving every minute. It is pretty amazing to be able to have this opportunity to preach the gospel, even if it is for such a short amount of time. We are just trying to make the best of it! Keep praying for the people of New York. They can use all of the prayers they can get!
One theme that I got from conference was “defend the faith”. That is something that I have had to do a lot on my mission. Whether that is in living rooms, on buses, street corners, on the internet, etc. You name it. It has not always been easy. There have been times where I was unsure of how to respond. There was even times when doubt crept up on me. I am grateful for those experiences though. The flame of my testimony has been revived in those refining moments. I sense a lot of hard times ahead for members of the church. Regardless of where you live, because we all have the internet. The internet can be a nasty place! We were trying to find some people to teach through some groups on facebook, and some of those groups didn’t like our church very much… to say the least. 🙂 Defending the faith will never be easy, and it doesn’t always require us to do so in a heroic manner. But it does require us to hold strong to the truths we have been converted to. Elder Holland gave a great talk on this topic that I really liked. Anyways, don’t shy away from the truth. Take comfort in persecution that lays ahead! For, “if they have persecuted me, they will also persecute you” (John 15:20). Although we may seem alone when we defend the faith, we stand with Jesus Christ. Take pride in that!!! Hurrah for Israel!
Elder Lee
Come what may, and Love it!
St Patricks Day 2014!

St Patricks Day 2014!

Leave a Reply

