Should I stay or should I go?

We got transfer calls last Saturday night… It looks like.. I am
staying in Brooklyn. 🙂 Yay! Elder McPherson and I will be staying
together for at least another transfer. I am pretty excited about it.
I love serving here in Midwood!

So. We had a lesson with Adam and Sis Denniston! We taught him about
the power of prayer. It went pretty well. Plus Sis Denniston made us
some delicious food. I loved the way she cooked plantains. They were
delicious. Plus we had some peach ice cream for dessert! It doesn’t
get any better than that.

Can I just tell you how much I love my mission? I really do believe
that everyone should serve a mission. Just go! It is so worth it. This
Gospel is really the only thing that matters. Are missions easy? No
way. 🙂 But that is what makes them so great. We learn from the
hardest times, and that is when we grow the most. I am just grateful
for all of the trials I have gone through and am yet to go through.
Life really is what you make of it. I discovered that out here. Life
will continue to go on, it is our decision whether that life is a
happy or sad one!! Don’t be mistaken, I am not perfect at it. But hey!
I am trying. You should too! The only thing you have to lose is
sadness. Sounds like a good gamble to me. 🙂

I had a couple of exchanges with the Elders in my district! We are
supposed to do one exchange for every elder in the district per
transfer… and it was the last week of the transfer. So I went on an
exchange with Elders Ashby and Decrescenzo. When I was with Elder
Decrescenzo we had to make a trip to queens to turn in a car at the
office. Something really cool happened:

On the way back we were talking to people on the train. I looked up
and felt prompted to go and talk to this guy that was about 15 feet
away from me. I was a little apprehensive because it was going to look
super awkward, and I was singling him out from a group of people…but
I felt a prompting so I figured I would just go! I gathered my
courage, approached him, and guess what?! He is getting baptized next
week!!!! No I am totally kidding. Haha he didn’t even talk to me and
just told me to leave him alone. So I started walking away thinking to
myself “Okay, Heavenly Father.. What was that all about? I tried to
talk to him, but nothing happened”. No sooner had I thought that when
I saw Julio. I stood next to him and complimented him on his shoes. He
just looked at me and said, “I was baptized in your church”.
Uhhhhhhhhh WHAT?! (It was a miracle in case you didn’t realize). I
started talking to him and found out that he was baptized in the
Dominican Republic. He was going to Vegas in a few weeks and I made
him promise me he would go to church and then go to the temple. He
said he would! He seemed pretty serious about it too. Moral of the
story? The Lord works in mysterious ways… I probably wouldn’t have
noticed Julio had I not walked all the way over to that other guy and
had to turn around. We may not always know why we do things, but we
have to trust in Heavenly Father. He knows what he is doing. I am a
witness of that!!!

Elder Sean Lee
Come what may and Love it!!!!!
Leave a Reply

