Merry Christ-mas!

Well look at that.. It’s that time of year!! The Christmas season is
very different on the mission. Not in a bad way! I have loved focusing
on other people in stead of myself. Its something I haven’t been used
to, and I am not perfect at it yet! But hey, I am trying. We are still
talking to a lot of people and finally seeing the fruits of our
labors. Speaking of fruits, I tried a pomegranate the other day..
phenomenal. Who knew?

Aceley finally came to church yesterday! He is one of my Less Active
friends. He really enjoyed it. It was a lot of fun to have him there.
Adam was also there and he played his saxophone in the ward choir for
sacrament meeting. It turned out great. We had a really good day at
church. Even though we had to teach “Exaltation” to someone who came
to church for the first time in the Gospel Principles class. That was
an adventure. New Yorkers are born skeptical out here, and the whole
“We have the opportunity to become like God” topic is not an easy one
for them to grasp. Especially the ones who have seen the Book of
Mormon Musical (curse that thing). We did our best to teach by the
spirit, and hopefully they will pray about it and find out for
themselves! That’s about the best we can do. šŸ™‚

My other friend Joseph Booth is waiting to get his eye surgery. He has
cataracts, and can’t see. We have been teaching him, but sheesh it has
been a challenge. I have learned a lot about patience. It is something
I have needed to learn a lot about. I have a feeling I am not done
learning yet… just a wild guess though! Ha!

Want to know how I am going to be celebrating Christmas? I am actually
really excited about it. We have a breakfast with a member from the
Caribbean! He is going to make us some amazing food. I love eating at
his house. This will be the second time. Then we are visiting people
who would normally be alone. Taking them some humble gifts (probably
cookies or something). Of course we will be skyping home! Yay! Then a
member from somewhere in Africa is feeding us dinner! He makes
delicious chicken curry. Then we will be going to this adult home to
spend the night there. Singing carols, and doing our best to spread
the real meaning of Christmas. šŸ™‚ I can’t wait.

If there is one thing I have learned on my mission.. it is that Jesus
Christ does live. I know he wasn’t born on Christmas Day, but I am
very appreciative that we can dedicate a whole entire season to His
life. Let us not forget the greatest gift He gave to us, the
opportunity to live forever with Him and our Father. His atoning
sacrifice is the greatest gift He could have given, and I would
encourage everyone to study more about His life. Especially the sermon
on the mount. If we pattern our lives after His, we can find peace in
this life and eternal life in the world to come. “He lives all glory
to His name… Oh sweet the joy this sentence gives, I KNOW that MY
Redeemer lives”.

Merry Christ-mas!!
Elder Lee
Come what may, and Love Him

Leave a Reply

