The Big 1-9!!!

Time is an interesting thing. I can’t describe how it feels. For instance, I have no idea what has happened this week. I can’t tell if something happened two days ago, or if it happened two weeks ago! So I will do my best to recount this weeks activities…
We had a wicked awesome lesson this week! A members mom goes to a Baptist church. She is an older black lady, who invited her friend over for a lesson. They really wanted to understand what the priesthood was, and what happened to it… I know right? Solid. So we taught them the Restoration. With their bible. It was epic. They had an NIV, and it was a little bit of a challenge, but we managed to do it! Now we are going back tomorrow to teach the Plan of Salvation out of the bible. The bible is so cool, I am sad I never read it before my mission.
Pioneer day!! We had some stick pull, and of course some roping! Elder Finlinson brought his roping dummy on his mission… major farm boy! He set it up at the church and taught people how to rope. Then we projected the movie “17 Miracles” on the wall in the gym. Made a little movie theatre, and had members bring treats! We had 8-10 non-members there! It was a success. Didn’t really get to see the movie, I was trying to make sure that everyone was having a good time. I will watch it again one day.
We went to the beach this morning to do studies! And also to celebrate my birthday. (I am turning 19 by the way… ) I do not want to do anything on Friday, because we are supposed to be out working. So we celebrated with the Dybers at the beach. Mom and Dad.. you rock! Thanks for doing everything. The cake was great, and we had a good time. Studying out there was a blast too. I am a little sunburnt, but it was worth it.
I am studying Proverbs right now. There are some wise things in there! One that has stuck out to me is Proverbs 15:1 and it reads,
“A soft answer turneth away wrath, but grievous words stir up anger”
I am starting to learn how important it is to have self control. Especially when anger is involved. When we get angry, things happen that we regret. I have seen that evident in many New Yorkers out here. They are a little hot headed, especially on the road. Still love em though! Just fireballs. When I came across that scripture, I couldn’t help but think of my future. I am trying to learn how to control my emotions so that I don’t do something I will regret. That scripture rings true to all of us. If we are looking for peace in our homes, we HAVE to be able to disagree without being disagreeable. There is no other way. So that is what I am working on. I do wish peace in my future home, with my future family. Don’t we all though?
Elder Lee
Come what may and Love it

One thought on “The Big 1-9!!!

  1. Happy birthday, Elder Lee!

    The pictures show you are having a fun celebration. By the sea shore!

    We sure enjoy following your mission adventures with your letters. Such a variety of people and experiences.

    We send our best wishes for continued successes!

    Love from Carol Anne and Jim Daniels

    p.s. Jonathan and his wife are happily headed for pilot training in south Texas in January.

Leave a Reply

